Chris Croft's Personal Blog

December 22, 2011

Reading – what’s on my list?

Filed under: Books and Culture — chriscroft @ 5:41 pm

I want to do more reading, (just finished and greatly enjoyed “Mutant Message Down Under”) and also I’ve been feeling a bit stressed that there are books all over my house that I want to read some time.  So I have moved them all onto one shelf, and there are quite a few!  But for your amusement, here are some of the ones on the pile:

(and does anyone think I shouldn’t bother with any of them??)

  • The Code Book by Simon Singh
  • Alan Clark’s diaries
  • Sharon Osbourne:  Extreme
  • The Mission Song – John Le Carre
  • John McEnroe: Serious
  • First Among Equals – How to Manage a Group of Professionals
  • The Seven Sins of Memory – How the mind forgets and remembers
  • The difficulty of being a dog – Roger Grenier
  • Just Six Numbers – Martin Rees
  • The Dice Man – Luke Reinhart (read it ages ago, know I loved it, can’t remembr the details, must re-read)
  • Michael Lewis – Liars’ Poker
  • Nancy Mitford – The Pursuit of Love
  • Back from the Brink (Coping with stress) – Nick Leeson
  • Roger Penrose – The Emperor’s New Mind
  • Predictions – 30 great minds on the future
  • Potter on Gamesmanship
  • Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance (another re-read)
  • Impro – Keith Johnstone (my brother’s favourite book of all time, so I think I’d better read it)
  • Why do buses come in threes? – the hidden maths of everyday life
  • The inside story of Viz – Chris Donald
  • The Slap
2 Comments »

  1. The only one of the bunch I’ve tried to read is “Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance”. I gave up after a few pages. I also gave up on “Catch 22” and didn’t like “On the road”. I think they have something in common (apart from being American) but can’t put my finger on it.

    I also walked out of either “The Blues Brothers” or “Animal House” – I think “Animal House” – but I don’t think it is part of the same meta genre as the other three. Or is it?

    Comment by Martin Herrington — December 23, 2011 @ 1:15 am

    • I agree about Catch22 which has a horribly smug style, thinking it’s much funnier than it is. And I agree that on the road was just utterly dull unstructured ramblings. Trying to be cool.
      But Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance is completely brilliant and fascinating and I would strongly recommend it I think it’s quite different to the other two.
      As for the films, I think they are a different meta genre but I agree, I don’t really get what’s so great about the blues brothers. What it does have in common with On the road is that people think it’s cool and therefore you kind of have to like it maybe?

      I seem to remember that animal house was pretty funny in a totally crude laddish kind of way – I’m ashamed to say I did enjoy it!

      Comment by chriscroft — December 23, 2011 @ 10:16 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

