Chris Croft's Personal Blog

September 13, 2011

Things to NOT say when being interviewed for the Royal Navy

Filed under: Careers, Managing People — chriscroft @ 2:38 pm

I was remembering back to 1979 and thought I’d recall the key moments:

When one of your team falls off the plan into the imaginary crocodile swamp: “We never liked him much anyway, did we team?”
When being quizzed about geography in front of a huge map of the world: “Fair enough, I don’t know where the Malacca Straits are, but if I was captain of a warship I’d probably have a map”
When being asked about how you feel about the physical training at Dartmouth, yomping across fields with a 30kg back pack etc: “It’s not my idea of fun but I could do it”
When you have each presented a solution to the snowmobile logistics scenario and then have to discuss it as a group and come up with one plan: “His idea is the best one, let’s do that”
What asked what you’ll do if you don’t get in: “Then I’ll take one of the other jobs I’ve already been offered”

 

I’m sure the decision they made back then was correct. Clearly it was never my destiny……

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

